Five from Big 12 up for 'Academic Heisman'

Five Big 12 players are semifinalists for the William V. Campbell Trophy, given annually to the "absolute best scholar-athlete in the nation."

There are 127 semifinalists for the award.

The Big 12 nominees:

  • Emmanuel Acho, LB, Texas

  • Tysyn Hartman, S, Kansas State

  • Ryan Tannehill, QB, Texas A&M

  • Grant Ressel, K, Missouri

  • Brandon Weeden, QB, Oklahoma State

Texas DE Sam Acho, Emmanuel Acho's older brother, won the award in 2010.

Here are the criteria:

Nominated by their schools, candidates must be a senior or graduate student in their final year of eligibility, have a GPA of at least 3.2 on a 4.0 scale, have outstanding football ability as a first team player or significant contributor, and have demonstrated strong leadership and citizenship.

Texas' Dallas Griffin in 2007 is the only other Big 12 player to win the award.