Five Big 12 QBs up for O'Brien Award

The Davey O'Brien Award, given annually to college football's best quarterback, has released its 34-man preseason watch list, and five Big 12 QBs made the list.

Here they are:

Great list there. Don't be surprised if Nick Florence cracks the list of midseason semifinalists, but for now, based on his efforts in 2009 (and one half last year), he didn't deserve a spot on the preseason list. I'm expecting a big year from him, but the five guys on this list should all have big years, too.

The Big 12 has won three of the past four Davey O'Brien Awards. Baylor's Robert Griffin III won it last year, two years after Texas' Colt McCoy took it home. Oklahoma's Sam Bradford won the O'Brien and the Heisman in 2008. Auburn's Cam Newton broke up the Big 12 streak in 2010.

Oklahoma's three O'Brien Awards are tied for second-most nationally, behind only BYU, with four in the award's 20-year history.