Manning Award eyeing five Big 12 QBs

The Manning Award, given annually to college football's best quarterback, has made five additions to its preseason watch list from the Big 12.

The Manning Award announces its watch list in phases and is the only college football award to factor in bowl performance.

Here's who they're watching this season:

Those are clearly the Big 12's five best QBs. Jones and Smith are as good as anyone in the country, and could both win it.

The award is named after the QB lineage of the Mannings, with sons Eli and Peyton following in father Archie's footsteps.

The Big 12 has won the award three times since it began in 2005.

Baylor's Robert Griffin III won the award last season. Texas won the other two awards, with Vince Young in 2006 and Colt McCoy in 2010.

Texas is the only school with multiple Manning Award winners.