Baylor claims Big 12 Athlete of Year awards

Both of the Big 12 Athletes of the Year hail from Baylor.

Bears quarterback and Heisman winner Robert Griffin III won the award for the men, and women's basketball star Brittney Griner won on the women's side.

From the Big 12:

Nominees are submitted by each Big 12 institution and selected, based on athletic performance, academic achievement and citizenship, by a media panel as well as fan voting conducted through the Big 12's social media sites.

Players from any sport are nominated, but it's a fitting cap to the Year of the Bear in the Big 12. Griner's women's team won the national title and went undefeated, and Griffin made history at Baylor, winning 10 games and taking the Bears to a second consecutive bowl game.