Two from Big 12 up for Academic Heisman

The William V. Campbell Trophy, commonly known as the "Academic Heisman" has named its list of 15 finalists.

Two Big 12 players made the list.

Baylor quarterback Nick Florence, also named a finalist for the Davey O'Brien Award this week, joins Texas Tech safety Cody Davis on the list.

From the award release:

Candidates must be seniors or graduate students in their final years of eligibility, have a GPA of at least 3.2, have outstanding football ability as a first team player or significant contributor, and have demonstrated strong leadership and citizenship. The class is selected each year by the NFF Awards Committee, which is comprised of a nationally recognized group of media, College Football Hall of Famers and athletics administrators.

The finalist are known as the National Football Foundation's National Scholar-Athlete Class and will travel to New York for an awards dinner on Dec. 4, where the winner of the Campbell Trophy will be announced.

Texas defensive end Sam Acho won the award in 2010, and the Longhorns' Dallas Griffin won the award in 2007.