Big 12 collars seven Ray Guy Award nominees

Posted by ESPN.com's Tim Griffin

The Big 12 had seven players who were selected as nominees for the Ray Guy Award given to the nation's top punter.

That total was more than any other conference. Conference USA had six nominees and the Big Ten and SEC had five players apiece selected.

Big 12 nominees include: Iowa State's Mike Brandtner, Colorado's Matt DiLallo, Baylor's Derek Epperson, Missouri's Jake Harry, Nebraska's Alex Henery, Kansas' Alonso Rojas and Oklahoma State's Quinn Sharp.

The list of nominees will be trimmed to 10 semifinalists on Nov. 13. The award, presented by the Greater Augusta (Ga.) Sports Council, will be awarded during the Home Depot ESPNU College Football Awards Show airing on ESPN December 10.

Here is a look at the candidates with the Big 12 nominees in bold.

2009 Ray Guy Award Candidates

Delbert Alvarado, South Florida

Bryan Anger, California

Ben Armer, Western Michigan

Jeremy Boone, Penn State

Brent Bowden, VA Tech

Mike Brandtner, Iowa State

Drew Butler, Georgia

Peter Caldwell, Utah State

Desi Cullen, Connecticut

David Defatta, Middle Tennessee

Kyle Delahooke, Navy

Matt DiLallo, Colorado

Matt Dodge, East Carolina

Ryan Donahue, Iowa

Clinton Durst, Auburn

Derek Epperson, Baylor

P.J. Fitzgerald, Alabama

Reid Forrest, Washington State

Will Goggans, Troy

Mickey Groody, Florida Atlantic

Trevor Hankins, Arizona State

Jake Harry, Missouri

Johnny Hekker, Oregon State

Alex Henery, Nebraska

Chas Henry, Florida

Kevin Jones, Duke

Scott Kozlowski, West Virginia

Spencer Lanning, South Carolina

Jeff Locke, UCLA

Rob Long, Syracuse

Kyle Martens, Rice

Zoltan Mesko, Michigan

Brad Nortman, Wisconsin

Matt Reagan, Memphis

Alonso Rojas, Kansas

Quinn Sharp, Oklahoma State

Brian Stahovich, San Diego State

Michael Such, Tulsa

Chris Summers, Purdue

Matt Szymanski, SMU

Ross Thevenot, Tulane

Kyle Watson, UNLV

The Big 12 has had more Guy Award winners than any other conference with four since the awarded started in 2000. Big 12 winners included Mark Mariscal of Colorado in 2002, Baylor's Daniel Sepulveda in 2004 and 2006 and Matt Fodge of Oklahoma State in 2008.