Three Big 12 DBs among Thorpe Award semifinalists

Posted by ESPN.com's Tim Griffin

The Big 12's emerging reputation for defense was spotlighted when three players were named on the semifinalist list for the Thorpe Award.

Among the Big 12 players selected include: Oklahoma State cornerback Perrish Cox, Texas safety Earl Thomas and Kansas safety Darrell Stuckey.

The Big 12 matches the Southeastern Conference with three semifinalists for the award, which will be announced Dec. 10 on the Home Depot ESPNU College Football Awards Show. The Thorpe Award will be formally presented at a banquet in Oklahoma City next February.

Here's a list of the Thorpe Award semifinalists.

  • Javier Arenas, Sr., Alabama

  • Eric Berry, Jr., Tennessee

  • Barry Church, Sr., Toledo

  • Perrish Cox, Sr., Oklahoma State

  • Joe Haden, Jr., Florida

  • Brandon Harris, So., Miami (FL)

  • Taylor Mays, Sr., USC

  • Tyler Sash, So., Iowa

  • Darrell Stuckey, Sr., Kansas

  • Earl Thomas, So., Texas

  • Alterraun Verner, Sr., UCLA

  • Kyle Wilson, Sr., Boise State