Seven from Big 12 on Lott Trophy list

The Lott IMPACT Trophy released its watch list on Thursday, which means only one thing: It's officially watch list season in college football.

The award is given annually to college football's best defensive player who makes an IMPACT on and off the field. IMPACT stands for Integrity, Maturity, Performance, Academics, Community and Tenacity.

Staying out of trouble off the field is a huge factor to win this award, so there are a couple of good defenders in the Big 12 who didn't show up on the watch list. I'm not real surprised at their absence. Calling them out here doesn't seem like a productive exercise, but any basic Google search can probably answer your questions.

Here's who made the list from the Big 12:

Notre Dame's Manti Te'o won the award last year. No Big 12 player has ever won the award, but TCU's Jerry Hughes took home the trophy back in 2009.

Baylor is also one of just six schools with more than one player on the watch list.