Rhoads, Snyder rank among leaders in first-year turnarounds

Iowa State coach Paul Rhoads and Kansas State coach Bill Snyder both will receive a lot of mention for Coach of the Year honors in the Big 12.

That honor is understandable, considering what the conference's first-year coaches have been able to accomplish.

Rhoads leads all first-year coaches in win improvement from last season. And Snyder is tied for fifth.

NCAA rookie coaches

Here's a look at the national leaders in improvement among first-year coaches.

Interestingly, three of the coaches on the list have associations with the Big 12. Gene Chizik was the head coach at Iowa State who preceded Rhoads. Dave Christensen served as the offensive coordinator at Missouri before accepting the Wyoming job. And Tim Beckman was the defensive coordinator at Oklahoma State before taking the Toledo head job.