Six from Big 12 on Maxwell Award watch list

Six Big 12 players made the watch list for the Maxwell Award, given annually to college football's top player. There's lots of potential and inexperience on offense across the Big 12 so there could be plenty of guys added to this list as the season goes on. All players are still eligible.

Still, here are the six Big 12 players on the list for now:

Very interesting to see Sims on the list. The recent Houston transfer earned the nod ahead of WVU running backs Andrew Buie and Dustin Garrison.

The watch list also took a flyer on Bell, who's rushed for 24 touchdowns in the past two seasons but is stepping into a starting role for the first time. The rest of the list is mostly a who's who of experienced players at running back and quarterback.

Seastrunk will be the Big 12's best hope at bringing home the trophy to begin the season, but the Maxwell Award is something of a mini-Heisman, so think of his chances like that. He'd definitely be considered a dark horse.

Colt McCoy (2009) was the last Big 12 player to win the Maxwell Award. Stanford's Andrew Luck beat out Robert Griffin III for the award in 2011. Notre Dame linebacker Manti Te'o won the award in 2012. Texas' four winners is tied with Ohio State and Navy for third-most in college football history.