Seven from Big 12 on Bednarik watch list

Seven Big 12 players are on the watch list for the Bednarik Award, given annually to college football's best defender. Here's a look:

Jeffcoat and Fields will be the obvious front-runners from the Big 12, and both won't be far off from contending for the trophy. Ndamukong Suh in 2009 was the last Big 12 player to win the Bednarik Award, but it's been 10 years (Oklahoma's Teddy Lehman, 2003) since a player from a current Big 12 team won the award.

He's the only player from a current Big 12 team to win the Bednarik Trophy.