Suh among five Nagurski Trophy finalists

Nebraska defensive tackle Ndamukong Suh Thursday was named one of the five finalists for the 2009 Bronko Nagurski Trophy, announced by the Football Writers Association of America and the Charlotte Touchdown Club.

Other finalists named include TCU defensive end Jerry Hughes, Alabama defensive tackle Terrence Cody, Tennessee strong safety Eric Berry and Iowa linebacker Pat Angerer.

Suh leads the Cornhuskers with 31 solo and 25 assisted tackles. He has also produced 13 tackles for 47 yards in losses, including five sacks. He's also generated eight pass breakups, 19 quarterback hurries, forced a fumble and blocked three kicks. Nebraska ranks 10th nationally in total defense and 11th in rush defense.

The winner will be announced Dec. 7 during a banquet in Charlotte, N.C.

Additionally, the FWAA and the Charlotte Touchdown Club will present their third Bronko Nagurski Legends Award to former standout Missouri defensive back Roger Wehrli, a member of the 1968 FWAA All-America team.