Big 12 lands 12 on Lombardi watch list

I've got a big, ol' soft spot for the Lombardi Award. It's not only my favorite college football trophy (I like to imagine I'll one day get the Lombardi Award rock covering my kitchen counters), it's got by far my favorite description when you read the qualifications.

Eligibility for the Rotary Lombardi Award is limited to down linemen, end-to-end, either on offense or defense, who set up no farther than 10 yards to the left or right of the ball, or linebackers who set up no farther than five yards deep from the line of scrimmage.

Nothing like a little clarity. I've always loved it. Anyway, 12 Big 12 players made the award's 2013 preseason watch list, released on Monday morning.

Solid list of the Big 12's top talents in the trenches there.

Notre Dame's Manti Te'o won the award last season, and Ndamukong Suh (2009) was the last Big 12 player to win it. He won it a season after Texas' Brian Orakpo in 2008.