Two Big 12 QBs on Davey O'Brien watch list

Two Big 12 quarterbacks are on the watch list for the Davey O'Brien Award, given annually to college football's best quarterback.

For now, the MAC (3) has more quarterbacks on the watch list than the Big 12, and the Mountain West (4) has twice as many. Like we've written all offseason, I wouldn't put much stock into that. The Big 12 has a lot of talent at quarterback ready to suit up in 2013, but Ash and Pachall are the only players with significant experience.

That said, I probably still would have given Oklahoma State's Clint Chelf a nod on this list. Players who don't make the watch list in the preseason are still eligible for the award, which is handed out in December after the regular season. I'd keep an eye on Chelf, Oklahoma's Blake Bell, Baylor's Bryce Petty and Texas Tech's Michael Brewer to crash the watch list by season's end.

You can see the full list here.

Big 12 quarterbacks have won three of the past five O'Brien Trophies. Baylor's Robert Griffin III won in 2011 and Oklahoma's Sam Bradford and Texas' Colt McCoy went back to back in 2008 and 2009.