Kindle, Weatherspoon among Butkus Award finalists

Two Big 12 linebackers have been chosen among the five finalists for the Butkus Award.

Texas' Sergio Kindle and Missouri's Sean Weatherspoon both were among the finalists announced Friday by the Butkus Foundation.

Kindle has produced 49 tackles, three sacks, 14 tackles for losses, 26 quarterback pressures , forced two fumbles and broken up two passes this season for the Longhorns. He's alternated between linebacker and defensive end.

Weatherspoon leads the Tigers with 93 tackles with 12 tackles for losses, 3 1/2 sacks, two pass deflections, an interception, a forced fumble and a quarterback pressure.

The winner of the award will be announced in early December.

The five Butkus Award finalists include:

  • Sergio Kindle, Texas

  • Rolando McClain, Alabama

  • Eric Norwood, South Carolina

  • Brandon Spikes, Florida

  • Sean Weatherspoon, Missouri

Four different Big 12 players have been awarded the Butkus Award since the conference began play in 1996 -- Colorado's Matt Russell (1996), Oklahoma's Rocky Calmus (2001), Oklahoma's Teddy Lehman (2003) and Texas' Derrick Johnson (2004). And schools from the Big 12 and the Big Ten have produced the most winners since the award began in 1985 with eight honorees apiece.