Six in Big 12 named AFCA All-Americans

Six Big 12 players were selected Thursday as members of the American Football Coaches Association's All-America team.

The only other conference that had more players picked was the SEC, with seven. The Pac-10 had three players chosen and no other conference had more than two selections.

Three players were selected from Texas and Alabama to head the team.

The Big 12 representatives are Texas quarterback Colt McCoy, Texas center Chris Hall, Texas safety Earl Thomas, Oklahoma tackle Trent Williams, Oklahoma State tackle Russell Okung and Nebraska defensive tackle Ndamukong Suh.

The strong showing enables the Big 12 to maintain its leading position in All-America selections on the AFCA team over the years. A total of 250 Big 12 players have been selected, followed by the Big Ten at 241 and the SEC at 231.

Williams' selection on the team enables Oklahoma to keep its lead. The Sooners have been represented 60 times by 52 players on the AFCA team. They are followed by Ohio State (56 times/42 players), Notre Dame (56 times/49 players), Michigan (54 times/48 players), Southern California (54 times/47 players), Nebraska (49 times/44 players) and Texas (45 times/39 players).

Here's a link to the entire team on AFCA's Web site.