McCoy claims Davey O'Brien Award

Texas quarterback Colt McCoy received the first award presented at the The Home Depot ESPNU College Football Awards show when he won the Davey O’Brien Award.

McCoy beat out Case Keenum of Houston and Tim Tebow of Florida. He becomes the second consecutive Big 12 winner after Oklahoma’s Sam Bradford won last season.

He becomes the second Texas quarterback winner, joining Vince Young in 2005.

McCoy said his team is excited about his team’s upcoming challenge of competing against Alabama in the Jan. 7 BCS title game – particularly after his team’s narrow victory over Nebraska in the Big 12 title game.

“We wanted to be one more second better this year,” McCoy said. “We brought it down the line and took it a little close, but we’re in the national championship (game) and we’re fired up.”

The Texas quarterback deflected personal praise for the award in honor of his teammates.

“Our team has done so much this year,” McCoy said. “We started off a little slow but we were able to come together. It just shows how great of coaches we have. Our teammates are really close. It’s been a fun year and we’re thankful we’re where we are.”