Berry beats Thomas for Jim Thorpe Award

Eric Berry of Tennessee claimed the Jim Thorpe Award, beating out a group of defensive back finalists that also included Earl Thomas of Texas and Joe Haden of Florida.

Berry, a 2008 Jim Thorpe finalist, is the fourth winner of the award from the Southeastern Conference.