Suh, McCoy combine for seven awards

There was a decided Big 12 influence Thursday night as Colt McCoy and Ndamukong Suh accounted for seven awards during the Home Depot ESPNU College Football Awards show Thursday night.

McCoy capped the festivities by earning the Maxwell Award. Earlier, he earned the Walter Camp Football Foundation's Player of the Year and the Davey O'Brien Award.

Suh claimed the Outland Trophy and the Chuck Bednarik Award and had earlier been presented with the Bronko Nagurski Award and the Vince Lombardi/Rotary Award.

McCoy beat out Alabama running back Mark Ingram and Florida quarterback Tim Tebow for the Maxwell Award -- the final award presented during Thursday's awards show.

"Tim and Mark are two great candidates and are well deserving of this award," McCoy said. "I'm very humble."

McCoy talked about how excited he is to play in the Citi Bowl Championship Series National Championship on Jan. 7.

"That's something very special, something me and our seniors have worked for four years," McCoy said. "Obviously, we know we have our hands full with Alabama and their offense, defense and special teams. They are very well-coached and are a tremendous football team. But we're really excited about it."