No more BCS whining allowed for Texas

Posted by ESPN.com's Tim Griffin

Texas coach Mack Brown has decided enough is enough -- at least in terms of complaining about any perceived injustices from the BCS last season.

That controversy played a part in Texas' slogan for the upcoming season: "We Are Texas!"

"We chose that because we have moved forward on the Big 12 tiebreaker and the BCS," Brown said according to TexasSports.com. "We aren't worrying about the system, we are just concerned about what we can control, and that's how we play."

The Longhorns finished two-a-day practices as the fall semester starts for team members.

Brown also announced the Longhorns had awarded scholarships to three walk-on players.

Defensive back Clark Ford, deep-snapper Will Harvey and tight end Mac McWhorter were awarded scholarships for the upcoming season.

"The staff must be unanimous before a young man's name is called," Brown said.

Two of the new scholarship players have links with the Longhorns. McWhorter is the son of Texas offensive line coach Mac McWhorter. And Harvey's grandfather, Sonny Sowell, lettered on the 1951 Texas team.

"It's a very emotional part of our meeting because no one but the staff and I know who, or if, there will be a scholarship given out," Brown said. "When they were announced, there was a lot of hoopin' and hollerin'. This team is really close and they love these kids that work so hard. It was a really happy meeting room."

Texas has had a strong tradition of walk-on players eventually contributing in roles as they progressed and earned a scholarship. Deep-snapper Cullen Loeffler and fullback Ahmard Hall earned scholarships as seniors and are now playing in the NFL. Walk-on kicker Dusty Mangum hit the game-winning kick to beat Michigan in the 2005 Rose Bowl after earning his scholarship. And David Pino was awarded a scholarship and scored eight points in the Longhorns' national title victory over USC in 2006.