Big 12 should be honored tonight

It will be like Oscar night around my house this evening.

For good reason, I might add. Most of college football's biggest awards will be presented tonight at The Home Depot ESPNU College Football Awards show.

The festivities will begin at 7 p.m. ET, meaning you still have plenty of time to get together with your friends and start your pools.

Here are the Big 12 nominees and their legitimate chances of toting home the hardware from Disney World this evening.

Chuck Bednarik Award (best defensive player)

Big 12 nominee: Ndamukong Suh, Nebraska.

Chances of winning: Outstanding. Anybody who saw Suh's game against Texas should see he's a pretty deserving candidate.

Biletnikoff Award (best receiver)

Big 12 nominee: Jordan Shipley, Texas.

Chances of winning: Poor. Shipley might not have even been the most deserving candidate from the conference, considering the late charge by Missouri's Danario Alexander.

Maxwell Award (best all-around player)

Big 12 nominee: Colt McCoy, Texas.

Chances of winning: Fair. Mark Ingram might get the nod here in what should be tight balloting.

Davey O'Brien Award (best quarterback)

Big 12 nominee: Colt McCoy, Texas.

Chances of winning: Good. McCoy's lifetime statistics should boost him past finalists Tim Tebow and Case Keenum.

Outland Trophy (best lineman)

Big 12 nominees: Ndamukong Suh, Nebraska; Russell Okung, Oklahoma State.

Chances of winning: Outstanding. Look for Suh to win this award, although Okung would be a strong selection as well.

Jim Thorpe Award (best defensive back)

Big 12 nominee: Earl Thomas, Texas.

Chances of winning: Fair. Eric Berry is the favorite and he played more of the season as a hybrid linebacker/safety. Thomas has eight interceptions this season, but not Berry's career achievements.