Six Big 12 DEs up for Ted Hendricks Award

The Ted Hendricks Award, given annually to college football's top defensive end, has released its preseason watch list, and six Big 12 defensive ends are on the list. Here they are:

Good list there. All deserving. I might add David King at Oklahoma and Will Clarke at West Virginia, but I don't think I could see either of those guys ultimately winning the whole thing.

Brian Orakpo (2008) is the last Big 12 player to win the award, but TCU's Jerry Hughes won the award as a member of the Mountain West in 2009.

No school has had multiple players win the award since its inception in 2002, but ESPN analyst David Pollack won the award twice at Georgia, back in 2003 and 2004.

More awards watch lists: