Griffin tops Baylor's all-decade team

To go along with our look at the past decade in the Big 12, I'll also be releasing my own all-decade team for each Big 12 school.

I'll do four each day, starting with Baylor.

Along with my all-decade team, I'll also pick an offensive and defensive player of the decade, the top coach and the most memorable moment for each Big 12 school.

First will be Baylor.


QB: Robert Griffin

RB: Rashad Armstrong

RB: Brandon Whitaker

WR: Dominque Ziegler

WR: Kendall Wright

WR: Reggie Newhouse

OL: Jason Smith

OL: Don Gay

OL: Greg Jerman

OL: Will Blaylock

C: J.D. Walton


DL: Khari Long

DL: Jason Lamb

DL: Marcus Foreman

DL: Ethan Kelly

LB: Joe Pawelek

LB: John Garrett

LB: A.C. Collier

DB: Jordan Lake

DB: Willie Andrews

DB: Gary Baxter

DB: C.J. Wilson

P: Daniel Sepulveda

K: Ryan Havens

KR: Robert Quiroga

Offensive player of the decade: Robert Griffin. Spectacular player who won the award with barely a season of production.

Defensive player of the decade: Joe Pawelek. Most consistent Baylor defensive player of his era.

Coach of the decade: Art Briles. Had the Bears pointed to their first bowl game before Griffin's 2009 injury. He'll break that streak before too long.

Moment of the decade: Shawn Bell's overtime touchdown pass and dramatic two-point pass to Dominique Ziegler led the Bears to a wild 35-34 victory over Texas A&M in 2004, snapping an 18-game winless streak to the Aggies.