Schwartzwalder Trophy not in play

The only trophy being played for Dec. 29 at Yankee Stadium will be the Steinbrenner Trophy.

Syracuse and West Virginia will meet at the New Era Pinstripe Bowl in a matchup of former Big East rivals, but they won't be playing for the Schwartzwalder Trophy, which had been given to the winner of their matchups from 1993-2011.

Orange coach Doug Marrone said Tuesday that he would not put the Schwartzwalder Trophy on the line out of respect for their bowl hosts.

"I think one of the things we all have to be conscious of is that to the right of us is the Steinbrenner Trophy," Marrone said. "That's what we're both here for. I think it's very important that we all understand that."

Syracuse beat West Virginia, 49-23, in the schools' final Big East meeting last season, Oct. 21, 2011. The Orange won the Pinstripe Bowl and Steinbrenner Trophy in 2010.

The Mountaineers are 11-8 against the Orange since the trophy was established.

The Schwartzwalder Trophy was named after former Syracuse coach Ben Schwartzwalder, who led the Orange to the 1959 national title. Schwartzwalder was a West Virginia graduate.

The Steinbrenner Trophy is named after late Yankees owner George Steinbrenner.