Acho, Suh, McCoy among eight Lott semifinalists

Posted by ESPN.com's Tim Griffin

Three Big 12 defensive players are among the eight semifinalists chosen for the Lott Trophy.

Texas defensive end Sam Acho, Nebraska defensive tackle Ndamukong Suh and Oklahoma defensive tackle Gerald McCoy were included on the list released by the Pacific Club IMPACT Foundation of Newport Beach, Calif., which sponsors the award.

Other semifinalists include Tennessee safety Eric Berry, USC safety Taylor Mays, Alabama linebacker Rolando McClain, TCU defensive end Jerry Hughes and South Carolina defensive end Eric Norwood.

The four finalists for the award will be named Nov. 24 and the award will be presented at a banquet on Dec. 13 in Newport Beach, Calif.

A Big 12 player has never won the award in its five-year history.