Five Big 12 tight ends on Mackey watch list

Posted by ESPN.com's Tim Griffin

Five Big 12 tight ends were on the 2009 watch list for the John Mackey Award presented each season to the nation's top tight end.

Four of the Big 12 players will be able to play this season. Texas tight end Blaine Irby, another member on the list released Wednesday, will miss the season after he has been slow to recover from a dislocated right knee.

Other Big 12 players on the Mackey watch list include Colorado senior Riar Geer, Oklahoma senior Jermaine Gresham, Kansas State senior Jeron Mastrud and Nebraska junior Mike McNeill.

The award is presented by the Nassau County Sports Commission and will be announced on Dec. 10.

Two Big 12 players have previous won the Mackey Award since it debuted in 2000. Daniel Graham of Colorado won the award in 2001 and Chase Coffman of Missouri won it in 2008.