Three Big 12 stars make FWAA 75th Anniversary All-America Team

The prestigious Footbal Writers Association of America's 75th Anniversary All-America Team was released Thursday morning, and three former Big 12 players made the cut.

Nebraska defensive tackle Ndamukong Suh was the only first-team selection who played during the Big 12 era. Colorado kicker Mason Crosby and Oklahoma safety Roy Williams were honored with second- and third-team selections, respectively. Hard to disagree with any of those choices.

For those Texas fans out there feeling outraged that Vince Young wasn't honored, the FWAA committee honored only three quarterbacks: Roger Staubach, Tim Tebow and Tommie Frazier. The Austin American-Statesman's Kirk Bohls says VY wasn't close to making that final three.

Oklahoma and Texas both had four formers players make the FWAA anniversary teams. The rest of the selections from Big 12 schools:

  • Baylor LB Mike Singletary, first team

  • Oklahoma TE Keith Jackson, first team

  • Oklahoma DT Lee Roy Selmon, first team

  • Oklahoma LB Brian Bosworth, second team

  • Oklahoma State RB Barry Sanders, second team

  • Texas LB Tommy Nobis, first team

  • Texas DB Jerry Gray, second team

  • Texas P Russell Erxleben, second team

  • Texas OL Jerry Sisemore, third team