Two from Big 12 up for coaching honor

Texas A&M coach Mike Sherman and Oklahoma State coach Mike Gundy are among 10 finalists for the Liberty Mutual Coach of the Year Award.

Fans can vote on the award's website for their favorite candidate, and the winner will be announced on January 10, 2011, just before the BCS National Championship Game.

Fan voting constitutes 20 percent of a coach's final score.

Various members of the College Football Hall of Fame will also vote on the award, and their votes count for 55 percent of a coach's score. Media voting constitutes 25 percent.

Here's Gundy and Sherman's competition:

  • Gene Chizik, Auburn

  • Mark Dantonio, Michigan State

  • Rich Ellerson, Army

  • Chip Kelly, Oregon

  • Doug Marrone, Syracuse

  • Tom O'Brien, North Carolina State

  • Nick Saban, Alabama

  • Jim Tressel, Ohio State