Big 12 has 7 players on Biletnikoff watch list

Posted by ESPN.com's Tim Griffin

The Big 12 led the nation with seven players who were named earlier this week on the preliminary Biletnikoff Award watch list for the nation's top receiver.

Big 12 nominees included Dezmon Briscoe and Kerry Meier of Kansas, Oklahoma State's Dez Bryant, Oklahoma's Ryan Broyles, Texas' Jordan Shipley, Texas Tech's Detron Lewis and Kansas State's Brandon Banks,

Kansas is the only team nationally with two players on the list of the nation's top 37 receivers.

Conference USA and the Mid-American Conference each had five players on the list and the Southeastern Conference had four players.

The award is presented annually by The Tallahassee Quarterback Club Foundation.

The Big 12 has claimed the Biletnikoff Award in each of the last two seasons. Texas Tech wide receiver Michael Crabtree became the first back-to-back winner in the history of the award in 2007 and 2008.