Holgorsen, McCombs get FWAA honors

West Virginia coach Dana Holgorsen won FWAA first-year coaching honors, and three Big East players were named to the FWAA Freshman All-America team announced Monday.

Holgorsen led the Mountaineers to a 10-3 record and win over Clemson in the Discover Orange Bowl in Year 1 as a head coach. The other Big East players honored:

  • Rutgers offensive lineman Kaleb Johnson

  • UConn running back Lyle McCombs

  • Louisville offensive lineman Jake Smith

Johnson became the fifth player in school history to earn the prestigious honor, joining defensive tackle Scott Vallone (2009), quarterback Tom Savage (2009), offensive lineman Anthony Davis (2007) and defensive back Courtney Greene (2005). Johnson started 11 games this season at right tackle.

McCombs ran for 1,151 yards and seven touchdowns this season as the starter for the Huskies, and led the Big East in rushing in the regular season. That was the second-highest total among all freshmen in school history.

Smith became the first player in school history to be named on the Football Writers Association of America team. He started 13 games for Louisville at guard in 2011 as the Cardinals finished the season 7-6 and won a share of the Big East title.

The team and coach are selected by an 11-person panel of college football writers writers led by Mike Griffith of the Knoxville News Sentinel.