Six Big East teams place in final Lambert Poll

Posted by ESPN.com's Brian Bennett

The Lambert Trophy was created in 1936 to recognize the best team in Eastern college football. Over the years, that definition has expanded to include teams that play the majority of their games against teams in the East, which makes all the Big East members eligible.

Penn State was awarded the Lambert Trophy today for the 27th time in its history. Six Big East teams placed in the Top 10 of the final Lambert Poll, including four of the top five, led by Cincinnati at No. 2. Here's the final Lambert Poll:

1. Penn State

2. Cincinnati

3. West Virginia

4. Pittsburgh

5. Rutgers

6. Boston College

7. Connecticut

8. South Florida

9. Navy

10. Buffalo