Laurinaitis named finalist for Lott Trophy

Posted by ESPN.com's Adam Rittenberg

Ohio State senior linebacker James Laurinaitis, the Big Ten Defensive Player of the Year, has been named one of four finalists for the Lott Trophy. Laurinaitis joins Texas defensive end Brian Orakpo, Florida State safety Myron Rolle and Wake Forest linebacker Aaron Curry on the list of finalists.

The Lott Trophy honors the defensive impact player of the year and recognizes a player's character attributes in addition to his athletic achievements.

"He's a talented yet humble young man who brings enormous credit to the game of college football," Ohio State coach Jim Tressel said of Laurinaitis. "He represents Ohio State with poise and class."

Laurinaitis led Ohio State and ranked second in the Big Ten with 121 tackles this season.

The Lott Trophy winner will be announced Dec. 14 in Newport Beach, Calif.