Iowa's Greene wins Big Ten MVP award

Posted by ESPN.com's Adam Rittenberg

Iowa junior running back Shonn Greene has earned the Chicago Tribune's Silver Football award as the Big Ten most valuable player.

The winner is selected following a vote of the 11 Big Ten head coaches. A coach cannot vote for a player on his own team.

To me, Greene was the obvious choice for the Silver Football. In addition to having a tremendous back story -- detailed on the blog in October -- he was consistently excellent every week, eclipsing 100 rushing yards in all 12 regular-season games. He should win the Doak Walker Award as the nation's top running back next week and could get an invitation to the Heisman Trophy ceremony.

Greene is the 10th Iowa player to earn the Silver Football and the first since quarterback Brad Banks in 2002.

Here's how the voting broke down:

Iowa RB Shonn Greene -- 7 first-place votes, 1 second-place vote, 15 points

Penn State QB Daryll Clark -- 1 first-place vote, 4 second-place votes, 6 points

Ohio State LB James Laurinaitis -- 1 first-place vote, 4 second-place votes, 5 points

Penn State WR Derrick Williams -- 2 first-place votes, 0 second-place votes, 4 points

Michigan State RB Javon Ringer -- 0 first-place votes, 2 second-place votes, 2 points

Illinois WR Arrelious Benn -- 0 first-place votes, 1 second-place vote, 1 point