Five Big Ten players nominated for Rudy Award

Posted by ESPN.com's Adam Rittenberg

Five Big Ten players have been nominated for the Rudy Award, which is exactly what it sounds like, an honor going to a player (often a walk-on or former walk-on) who exhibits character, courage, contribution and commitment during their college careers.

The award is presented by The Rudy Foundation, started by college football's most famous walk-on, former Notre Dame player Daniel "Rudy" Ruettiger. Fifty-three FBS programs submitted nominees, and three Rudy Award finalists will be selected and honored at a banquet Jan. 12 in Nashville, Tenn.

The Big Ten's nominees are:

  • Indiana defensive end Jammie Kirlew

  • Iowa center Rob Bruggeman

  • Michigan State safety Otis Wiley

  • Penn State wide receiver Deon Butler

  • Purdue safety Frank Duong

For a full list of nominees, click here.