Minnesota names captains for 2010

Minnesota has selected four co-captains for the 2010 season and made a little history in the process.

Quarterback Adam Weber, the Golden Gophers' all-time passing leader, has been named the first three-time, co-captain in team history. Weber will serve in 2010 alongside fullback Jon Hoese, safety Kim Royston and defensive tackle Brandon Kirksey.

The team voted on captains Sunday night.

“The four young men our team selected to serve as captains are outstanding choices,” Minnesota head coach Tim Brewster said in a statement. “Adam, Kim, Jon and Brandon truly personify what it means to be a captain through leadership both on and off the field.”

Weber was an obvious choice after reclaiming his starting job following spring practice. Although he has endured some ups and downs on the field, his attitude and work ethic make him a natural leader.

After Weber, there weren't many slam-dunk candidates as Minnesota lost a lot on both offense and defense from the 2009 team. Hoese is a solid role player and Kirksey has appeared in 22 games as a reserve behind Garrett Brown and Eric Small.

Royston, a Wisconsin transfer who earned a starting spot last season, suffered a broken leg this spring but could be a major factor on defense if he can recover for the season.