Four BT centers on Rimington watch list

Four Big Ten players have been named to the preseason watch list for the Rimington Trophy, awarded to the nation's best center.

The candidates are:

  • Ohio State junior Michael Brewster

  • Northwestern junior Ben Burkett

  • Wisconsin sophomore Peter Konz

  • Michigan junior David Molk

The Big Ten contingent obviously would be larger had Penn State's Stefen Wisniewski and Wisconsin's John Moffitt remained at center for the 2010 season. According to a news release, the Rimington Trophy policy is "to count all players that play primarily the center position for their respective teams."

Brewster and Molk both could be serious contenders for the award. Brewster enters his third year as the starter, while Molk was regarded as Michigan's top offensive linemen before knee problems cut short his 2009 season.

The winner will be announced Jan. 15 in Lincoln, Neb. Penn State's A.Q. Shipley was the last Big Ten player to win the award in 2008.