Big Ten players at the NFL combine

Posted by ESPN.com's Adam Rittenberg

The official list of players invited to the 2009 NFL scouting combine later in Indianapolis has been finalized. The Big Ten will be sending 46 players to Indianapolis from Feb. 18-24.

Not surprisingly, Penn State and Ohio State led the way with eight participants each, followed by Wisconsin (7), Illinois (5) and Iowa (5). Minnesota is the lone Big Ten team not sending a player to Indy.

Here's the team-by-team rundown.


  • Cornerback Vontae Davis^

  • Defensive end Will Davis

  • Tackle Xavier Fulton

  • Defensive end Derek Walker


IOWA (5)

  • Center Rob Bruggeman

  • Cornerback Bradley Fletcher

  • Running back Shonn Greene^

  • Defensive tackle Mitch King

  • Guard Seth Olsen


  • Long snapper Sean Griffin

  • Defensive end Tim Jamison

  • Defensive tackle Terrance Taylor

  • Cornerback Morgan Trent


  • Quarterback Brian Hoyer

  • Running back Javon Ringer

  • Safety Otis Wiley


  • Running back Tyrell Sutton


  • Tackle Alex Boone

  • Linebacker Marcus Freeman

  • Wide receiver Brian Hartline^

  • Cornerback Malcolm Jenkins

  • Linebacker James Laurinaitis

  • Wide receiver Brian Robiskie

  • Cornerback Donald Washington

  • Running back Chris Wells^


  • Wide receiver Deon Butler

  • Tackle Gerald Cadogan

  • Defensive end Maurice Evans^

  • Defensive end Aaron Maybin^

  • Wide receiver Jordan Norwood

  • Cornerback Lydell Sargeant

  • Center A.Q. Shipley

  • Wide receiver Derrick Williams



  • Tight end Travis Beckum

  • Linebacker Jonathan Casillas

  • Running back P.J. Hill^

  • Guard Andy Kemp

  • Linebacker DeAndre Levy

  • Defensive end Matt Shaughnessy

  • Guard Kraig Urbik


Who got snubbed from the combine? Here are a few names surprisingly left off the list: Illinois center Ryan McDonald, Iowa defensive tackle Matt Kroul, Minnesota punter Justin Kucek, Northwestern defensive tackle John Gill, Penn State guard Rich Ohrnberger, Purdue linebacker Anthony Heygood and Wisconsin cornerback Allen Langford.