Big Ten has 9 in Campbell Trophy mix

Nine Big Ten players are among the 121 semifinalists for the 2010 William V. Campbell Trophy (formerly the Draddy Trophy), which is known to many as the "Academic Heisman."

Each NCAA school is limited to one nominee, who "must be a senior or graduate student in their final year of eligibility, have a GPA of at least 3.2 on a 4.0 scale, have outstanding football ability as a first-team player or significant contributor, and have demonstrated strong leadership and citizenship." The semifinalists include 47 FBS players, so it's a pretty impressive percentage from the Big Ten.

Here are the Big Ten's semifinalists:

  • Illinois P Anthony Santella

  • Indiana QB Ben Chappell

  • Iowa G Julian Vandervelde

  • Minnesota QB Adam Weber

  • Northwestern K Stefan Demos

  • Ohio State G Bryant Browning

  • Penn State G Stefen Wisniewski

  • Purdue TE Kyle Adams

  • Wisconsin QB Scott Tolzien

A list of 15 finalists will be announced Oct. 28, and the winner will be named Dec. 7 in New York. Former Ohio State quarterback Craig Krenzel was the last Big Ten recipient in 2003.