Thorpe Award semifinalists: Chekwa, Sash

Ohio State senior cornerback Chimdi Chekwa and Iowa junior safety Tyler Sash are among the 10 semifinalists for the Jim Thorpe Award, given to the nation's top defensive back.

Chekwa is tied for the Big Ten lead with three interceptions and tied for second in both forced fumbles (2) and passes defended (8). He has 28 tackles on the season, including four for loss and a sack.

Sash, a semifinalist for the Thorpe Award last season, is tied for 23rd in the league in tackles average (6 tpg). He has 1.5 tackles for loss and two interceptions, including a pick and a lateral Saturday against Michigan State that resulted in a Hawkeyes touchdown.

Two pretty good choices here for the Thorpe Award. The Big Ten doesn't have many superstar defensive backs this season, but there are solid players throughout the league.

The Thorpe Award winner will be announced Dec. 9 during the ESPNU College Football Awards on ESPN.

Former Ohio State cornerback Malcolm Jenkins is the most recent Big Ten winner of the Thorpe Award, taking it home in 2008.