Phil Steele selects All-Big Ten teams

You've seen the official All-Big Ten teams. Now comes Phil Steele's version.



QB: Dan Persa, Northwestern

RB/All-Purpose: Denard Robinson, Michigan

RB: Mikel Leshoure, Illinois

WR: Tandon Doss, Indiana

WR: Dane Sanzenbacher, Ohio State

WR: Jeremy Ebert, Northwestern

TE: Lance Kendricks, Wisconsin

C: David Molk, Michigan

G: John Moffitt, Wisconsin

G: Justin Boren, Ohio State

T: Gabe Carimi, Wisconsin

T: Mike Adams, Ohio State

KR: Troy Stoudermire, Minnesota

PR: Keshawn Martin, Michigan State


DE: Ryan Kerrigan, Purdue

DE: Adrian Clayborn, Iowa

DT: Corey Liuget, Illinois

DE: J.J. Watt, Wisconsin

LB: Greg Jones, Michigan State

LB: Martez Wilson, Illinois

LB: Brian Rolle, Ohio State

CB: Chimdi Chekwa, Ohio State

CB: Antonio Fenelus, Wisconsin

S: Tyler Sash, Iowa

S: Jermale Hines, Ohio State

K: Derek Dimke, Illinois

P: Aaron Bates, Michigan State


QB: Terrelle Pryor, Ohio State

RB: Edwin Baker, Michigan State

RB: Dan Herron, Ohio State

WR: Marvin McNutt, Iowa

WR: Damarlo Belcher, Indiana

WR: Derrell Johnson-Koulianos, Iowa

TE: Charlie Gantt, Michigan State

C: Mike Brewster, Ohio State

G: Stefen Wisniewski, Penn State

G: Joel Foreman, Michigan State

T: D.J. Young, Michigan State

T: Jeff Allen, Illinois

KR: David Gilreath, Wisconsin

PR: Jordan Hall, Ohio State


DE: Cameron Heyward, Ohio State

DT: Karl Klug, Iowa

DT: Mike Martin, Michigan

DE: Vince Browne, Northwestern

LB: Mike Taylor, Wisconsin

LB: Chris Colasanti, Penn State

LB: Eric Gordon, Michigan State

CB: Shaun Prater, Iowa

CB: Johnny Adams, Michigan State

S: Marcus Hyde, Michigan State

S: Trenton Robinson, Michigan State

K: Collin Wagner, Penn State

P: Ryan Donahue, Iowa



QB: Kirk Cousins, Michigan State and Scott Tolzien, Wisconsin

RB: James White, Wisconsin

RB: Adam Robinson, Iowa

WR: Da'Jon McKnight, Minnesota

WR: Roy Roundtree, Michigan

WR: Mark Dell, Michigan State

TE: Allen Reisner, Iowa

C: Graham Pocic, Illinois

G: Stephen Schilling, Michigan

G: Julian Vandervelde, Iowa

T: Al Netter, Northwestern

T: James Brewer, Indiana

KR: Derrell Johnson-Koulianos, Iowa

PR: Colin Sandeman, Iowa


DE: Colin Neely, Michigan State

DT: Jerel Worthy, Michigan State

DT: Kawann Short, Purdue

DT: Ollie Ogbu, Penn State

LB: Ross Homan, Ohio State

LB: Jeremiha Hunter, Iowa

LB: Jonas Mouton, Michigan

CB: Jordan Mabin, Northwestern

CB: Ricardo Allen, Purdue

S: Brian Peters, Northwestern

S: Niles Brinkley, Wisconsin

K: Devin Barclay, Ohio State

P: Anthony Santella, Illinois

A few notes:

  • Steele takes an interesting approach with Michigan's Denard Robinson, listing him as a first-team selection at the "running back/all-purpose" position. The Big Ten coaches tabbed Robinson as their Offensive Player of the Year but didn't list him as the first- or second-team quarterback. I think people need to start accepting that "Shoelace" is a quarterback and start listing him as one.

  • It was nice to see Corey Liuget get some love on the first team. He was the Big Ten's most disruptive defensive tackle this season and really blossomed for an improved Illinois defense.

  • Steele gives Terrelle Pryor more love than the Big Ten voters, listing him as the second-team quarterback ahead of both Scott Tolzien and Kirk Cousins. Ricky Stanzi's stock continues to plummet despite dramatically improved statistics, as the Hawkeyes' signal caller doesn't make Steele's rundown. Pretty stunning.

  • Selections I really liked: Joel Foreman as second-team guard, Jeff Allen as second-team tackle, Da'Jon McKnight as third-team receiver, Graham Pocic as third-team center, Kawann Short as third-team defensive tackle, Collin Wagner as second-team kicker.

  • Selections who should be higher up: Ohio State linebacker Ross Homan and Illinois punter Anthony Santella. I also was surprised not to see Iowa tackle Riley Reiff on the list.

  • Some of the specialist selections left me puzzled. I know the Big Ten is loaded at punter this year, but Santella should be no lower than the second team. I also was surprised to see Michigan State's Dan Conroy left off the list.

Overall, a solid job from Steele, as usual.