Six from Big Ten are FWAA All-Americans

As a member of the Football Writers Association of America, I'm a little biased here, but one of the more respected All-America teams has been revealed.

The FWAA on Saturday named its 2010 All-America team and six Big Ten players made the squad.

They are:

  • Michigan quarterback Denard Robinson (listed as RB)

  • Wisconsin left tackle Gabe Carimi

  • Ohio State center Mike Brewster

  • Purdue defensive end Ryan Kerrigan

  • Michigan State linebacker Greg Jones

  • Ohio State cornerback Chimdi Chekwa

The FWAA added more fuel to the debate about how to clarify Robinson by listing the Michigan star as a "back" along with Oregon's LaMichael James. The Big Ten coaches named Robinson as their Offensive Player of the Year but didn't list him as a quarterback or a running back on the all-conference squad. My take: Robinson is a quarterback, so either list him as one or don't.

Jones is one of only two repeat selections from the 2009 squad (Florida guard Rodney Hudson is the other).

Ohio State is one of five teams to produce two FWAA All-Americans. This is a big award for Brewster, who received first-team All-Big Ten honors from the media and second-team honors from the coaches.