Three football players honored for sportsmanship

Posted by ESPN.com's Adam Rittenberg

The Big Ten has selected 22 athletes as winners of the Outstanding Sportsmanship Award for the 2008-09 academic year, and the list includes three from the gridiron.

Michigan State running back Javon Ringer, Northwestern wide receiver Eric Peterman and Penn State offensive tackle Gerald Cadogan were all selected as their schools' male representatives for the award.

According to a news release, all award winners "have distinguished themselves through sportsmanship and ethical behavior. In addition, these student-athletes must be in good academic standing and must have demonstrated good citizenship outside of the sports-competition setting."

Ringer is the only recipient to also earn All-America honors on the football field.

Check out the full list of winners for 2008-'09.