Big Ten places 16 on Rotary Lombardi list

The Rotary Lombardi Award is the latest to offer its preseason watch list, and that gives me the chance to give my favorite description of who is eligible for the trophy: down linemen, end-to-end, either on offense of defense, who set up no farther than 10 yards to the left or right of the ball, and linebackers who set up no father than five yards deep from the line of scrimmage.

Well, obviously.

Anyway, 16 players from the Big Ten made the list, including several usual suspects from other award watch lists we've already mentioned. Here are the players who were nominated:

  • Mike Adams, OT, Ohio State

  • Jeff Allen, OT, Illinois

  • Mike Brewster, C, Ohio State

  • Vince Browne, DE, Northwestern

  • Ben Burkett, C, Northwestern

  • Jared Crick, DT, Nebraska

  • Lavonte David, LB, Nebraska

  • Joel Foreman, G, Michigan State

  • Peter Konz, C, Wisconsin

  • Mike Martin, DT, Michigan

  • Cameron Meredith, DE, Nebraska

  • David Molk, C, Michigan

  • Riley Reiff, OT, Iowa

  • Andrew Sweat, LB, Ohio State

  • Jerel Worthy, DT, Michigan State

  • Kevin Zeitler, G, Wisconsin