Six Big Ten centers make Rimington list

The Rimington Trophy has deep ties to the Big Ten. The award is named after former Nebraska star Dave Rimington, who was also an assistant coach at Wisconsin at one time. Adam caught up with Rimington earlier this month, in fact.

All of that is a prelude to the Rimington Trophy's preseason watch list, which was released on Wednesday. Again there is a strong Big Ten presence, as the league had six players nominated for the award that goes to the nation's top center. Only the SEC had more.

Here are the six who were chosen:

  • Mike Brewster, Sr., Ohio State

  • Ben Burkett, Sr., Northwestern

  • Mike Caputo, Sr., Nebraska

  • James Ferentz, Jr., Iowa

  • Peter Konz, Jr., Wisconsin

  • David Molk, Sr., Michigan

Center is obviously a loaded position for the league in 2011. Brewster has to be considered one of the favorites, if not the front-runner, to win this award. I wouldn't be surprised to see other Big Ten centers make the semifinalist and even finalist cut.