Player list for Big Ten media days

The Big Ten on Thursday announced its list of players appearing at preseason media days, which will be held July 28-29 in Chicago.

This announcement is probably bigger for media types than fans, but it gives an idea of who teams view as leaders and positive representatives for their programs.

Here's the list:


  • Jeff Allen, Sr., OL*

  • A.J. Jenkins, Sr., WR

  • Tavon Wilson, Sr., DB*



  • Mike Daniels, Sr., DT*

  • Marvin McNutt, Sr., WR*

  • Tyler Nielsen, Sr., LB





  • Rex Burkhead, Jr., RB*

  • Jared Crick, Sr., DT*

  • Lavonte David, Sr., LB*


  • Jordan Mabin, Sr., CB*

  • Al Netter, Sr., OT*

  • Dan Persa, Sr., QB*


  • Mike Brewster, Sr., C*

  • Orhian Johnson, Jr., DB

  • Andrew Sweat, Sr., LB



  • Albert Evans, Sr., S

  • Joe Holland, Sr., LB

  • Carson Wiggs, Sr., K/P*


  • Patrick Butrym, Sr., DT

  • Aaron Henry, Sr., S*

  • Nick Toon, Sr., WR*

*previous All-Big Ten or All-Big 12 (Nebraska) selection

Thoughts: Not a lot of surprises here. Six teams took the all-senior route with invitations, and no sophomores made the list. Three sophomores I hoped to see were Illinois QB Nathan Scheelhaase, Nebraska QB Taylor Martinez and Wisconsin RB James White, the 2010 Big Ten Freshman of the Year. It's a little surprising that neither White nor fellow running back Montee Ball made Wisconsin's list. ... There's a pretty good quarterback presence overall with Cousins, Denard Robinson, Gray and Persa. I was interested to see if Iowa would bring James Vandenberg, who has been tabbed as a team leader. ... As for charismatic personalities, there's not a Jay Valai on this list, but another Badger, Henry, should provide some entertainment. Other quotable players include Crick, Mabin, Gray, Cousins, Mauti, Trenton Robinson, Jeff Allen and Marvin McNutt. I'm sure I'll add a few names by the end of media days. ... Cousins will speak on behalf of the players at the Big Ten kickoff luncheon July 29. ... Purdue's Wiggs is the lone specialist making the trip to Chicago, just like Michigan State punter Aaron Bates was last year. ... The list includes 18 former All-Big Ten selections, while all three Nebraska players earned All-Big 12 honors in 2010. Six first-team all-conference honorees will be in attendance. ... The list likely includes the preseason offensive and defensive players of the year. I'd expect Denard Robinson or Persa to earn offensive honors and Crick or David to take home defensive honors.