Six Big Ten backs on Doak Walker list

The Doak Walker Award has only been around since 1990, but it's still a prestigious honor. The trophy goes to the nation's top running back, and there's always a lot of fierce competition for that hardware. Past Big Ten winners include Iowa's Shonn Greene (2008), Michigan's Chris Perry (2003), Penn State's Larry Johnson (2002), Wisconsin's Ron Dayne (1999), and Ohio State's Eddie George (1995).

Will another back from the league capture the award this season? There are six Big Ten ball-carriers who have been named to the preseason watch list. They are:

Anyone missing? Perhaps Silas Redd and Le'Veon Bell, maybe even a healthy Ralph Bolden. Dan Herron's chances were shot by the five-game suspension.