Five Big Ten players on Walter Camp list

The preseason award watch lists wrap up today with the Walter Camp Award, given annually to the nation's top football player. Past Big Ten winners include Ohio State QB Troy Smith (2006), Penn State RB Larry Johnson (2002), Wisconsin RB Ron Dayne (1999) and Michigan CB Charles Woodson (1997). Twelve players from Big Ten teams, including three from Nebraska, have won the Walter Camp Award.

Five Big Ten players made the 2011 preseason watch list.

They are:

Not too many surprises here, as the list includes my top rated Big Ten defensive lineman, top rated running back and top three quarterbacks. Any snubs? Maybe Nebraska LB Lavonte David and Michigan State RB Edwin Baker, but nothing major.

The list will be trimmed to 10 semifinalists in mid November, and the winner will be announced Dec. 8 on ESPN's "SportsCenter."

You can find all of the watch lists here.