Cousins, Konz win Big Ten Medal of Honor

The Big Ten on Thursday announced its 2012 Medal of Honor recipients, which include two standout football players.

Michigan State quarterback Kirk Cousins and Wisconsin center Peter Konz are among the 24 Medal of Honor winners. Started in 1915, the award goes to a graduating male and female student-athlete from each Big Ten school who have "attained the greatest proficiency in athletics and scholastic work."

This year's list of winners includes athletes from 13 different sports, including Purdue standout basketball player Robbie Hummel.

Cousins, whose accomplishments both on and off the field throughout his career are known throughout the league, also received a Big Ten sportsmanship award for 2012. He led Michigan State to 22 victories in his final two seasons and a spot in the inaugural Big Ten football championship game in December. The second-team All-Big Ten quarterback was a fourth-round pick of the Washington Redskins in April.

Konz was a Rimington Trophy finalist who earned All-America honors from several outlets in 2011. He anchored a Wisconsin offensive line that spurred running back Montee Ball to a record-setting season. Konz started 31 games the past three seasons and helped Wisconsin win back-to-back Big Ten championships. He took a heavy course load last fall and graduated in May. Konz opted to forgo his senior season and was a second-round pick of the Atlanta Falcons.

Five football players won the Medal of Honor in 2011.

Congrats to both Cousins and Konz. Here's the full list of winners.