O'Brien semifinalists: Miller, Robinson

The Big Ten's two most recognizable quarterbacks are among the 12 semifinalists for the Davey O'Brien Award.

Ohio State's Braxton Miller and Michigan's Denard Robinson are the only Big Ten signal callers on the list of semifinalists. Robinson is a semifinalist for the second straight year. Three finalists will be announced Nov. 19, and the winner will be revealed Dec. 6 during the Home Depot College Football Awards on ESPN.

I vote for the O'Brien Award, and in the interest of full disclosure, Miller made my ballot for the semifinalists, while Robinson did not. Although Robinson has been better as of late, his struggles against Alabama and Notre Dame, and his overall passing numbers (53 percent completions, nine touchdowns, nine interceptions) aren't good enough to make the list. As a runner, Robinson is simply spectacular, leading the Big Ten and ranking seventh nationally in rushing average (128.6 ypg). He also leads the Big Ten and ranks 14th nationally in total offense (309.1 ypg).

Miller is an obvious choice and one of the leading candidates for the Heisman Trophy. He has 1384 pass yards, 959 rush yards, 21 touchdowns (11 pass, 10 rush) and five interceptions.

I voted for Penn State's Matt McGloin, who didn't make the list despite leading the Big Ten in passing (255.4 ypg) with 14 touchdowns and two interceptions. Nebraska's Taylor Martinez also should have received strong consideration, as he leads the Big Ten in completion percentage (67) and pass efficiency (162.8 rating, 15th in the FBS).