Braxton Miller is O'Brien Award finalist

Ohio State sophomore Braxton Miller has been named as one of three finalists for the Davey O'Brien Award, which is presented annually to the nation's top quarterback.

The other two finalists are Kansas State's Collin Klein and Texas A&M's Johnny Manziel, who also represent some of Miller's top competitors for the Heisman Trophy.

The O'Brien Award asked voters (full disclosure: I was one of them) to consider quarterback skills, athletic ability, academics, reputation as a team player, character, leadership and sportsmanship when making their selections.

The three finalists will be highlighted on ESPNU during The Home Depot College Football Awards Nomination Special on Tuesday at 6 p.m. ET. Fans may vote to help determine the winner at www.VoteOBrien.org. Fan voting will close at 1 p.m. ET on Dec. 2.

The O'Brien winner will be revealed as part of The Home Depot College Football Awards show on Dec. 6, which airs on ESPN.